Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Neena Gupta is Not the First Indian to Receive the Ramanujan Price

Neena Gupta who is a mathematician and professor at the Indian Statistical Institute in Kolkata, has been awarded the 2021 DST-ICTP-IMU Ramanujan Price for young mathematician from developing countries. She has won the price for her amazing work in affine algebraic geometry and commutative algebra, in particular for her solution to the Zariski cancellation problem for affine spaces.

After her amazing win, a claim has been made by some users and is getting viral in social media platforms like Twitter and Facebook. The post claims that she is the first Indian women to win this award.

FB Post

Fact Check:

After doing our fact check analysis we found out that the claim is false and misleading. Neena Gupta is the third woman to receive the Ramanujan Price. She is the fourth Indian who to receive this prestigious prize.

Sujatha Ramdorai (2006), Amalendu Krishna (2015) and Ritabrata Munshi (2018) have already been honoured with the same prize. To know more, check out the Ramanujan price winners.

The Indian Express also recently made a report where they clearly mentioned that Neena Gupta is the fourth Indian to receive this award.